The top ten 80s guitarists who never make anyone’s top ten list – 1

Folks,

Paul Joseph Watson’s lament about the demise of popular culture, reminded me of a brilliant article I read back in 2007 by Vivian Britton, Fall of the Guitar Hero.  With that in mind, I give you the first installment of my running list of the top 10 80s guitarists I grew up with that never make anyone’s top 10 list.  In recognizing them, I figured I’d match each virtuoso with an 80s “guitar god” who tends to make standard top 10 lists.  The rankings that follow are in no particular order.

For my first top 10 guitarist who never seems to make the cut, I give you the awesome but underrated Jake E. Lee, who had the unenviable task of playing in the shadow of the late great, Randy Rhodes:

And for a guitarist who pretty much always makes the cut, I give you the father of neo-classical shredding, Yngwie Malmsteen,

Best,

Joe

